Foundation, NJ  U. S. A


the Message Continues ... 3/143


Newsletter for July 2013


Article 1 - Article 2 - Article 3 - Article 4 - Article 5 - Article 6 - Article 7 - Article 8 - Article 9 - Article 10 - Article 11 - Article 12



A synopsis by Dr. Syed Haider Hussain Shamsi

The basic elements of Islamic Faith are also known as the pillars of the faith. An individual has the choice to believe in them or to reject them based on his intelligence, observation, comparison, education or research.
They are called the pillars as the whole weight of what follows (after acceptance into Islam) falls on these basic elements.

Belief in Allah(swt)
One-ness of Allah(swt)
Special Attributes of Allah(swt)

Belief in Prophethood
Belief in Prophet Mohammed (sawa)
Special Attributes of the Last Prophet

Belief in Imamate
Functions of the Imam
Recognition of the Imam
Attributes of the Imam

Belief in justice from Allah(swt), Rasul(sawa) and Imams(as)
Practice justice-during daily life
Justice at The End of Time, and Extremity

The End of Time
Belief in The Day of Judgment
Belief in Resuffection of the Body
The Route to Salvation
The Role of Mahdi(as)


A Muslim is a believer of the basic elements of the faith. As a believer, he has to obey the rules of the faith as his obligation. There is no conjecture on these orders. These are firm and uncompromising.

SALAT (Prayers):
The Obligatory Daily Prayers
Before Dawn
Immediately after mid-day
Late afternoon
Immediately after sun-set
Late evening, but before mid-night

Optional Prayers :
Several optional prayers may be offered additional to the ritual daily prayers at the prescribed times as well as at other non-prescribed times
The Semi-obligatory Weekly Jamaat (Congregational Prayers)
Friday prayers to be held in congregational setting
Led by the priest (imam of the congregation)
Obligatory when in the catchments of the congregation
The Semi-obligatory Annual Jamaat:
Prayer for the Eid-ul-Fitr at the conclusion of Ramadan, and joined by Muslims throughout the world
Prayer at the time of Haj (pilgrimage) for all those not actually performing the Haj throughout the world

SAUM (Fasting):
The Obligatory Fasting:
The whole month of Ramadhan.
Nothing to taste, eat or drink from before day break to sun-set.
Referain from other leisure and pleasure giving indulgences.
Join in congregational prayers and socialise in the evenings.
Give alms and feed the hungry and the poor.

HAJ (Pilgrimage):
It is obligatory of all Muslims to perform the ritual Haj at least once in a life time, provided the individual can afford the cost of the trip from one's own earned income, or be sponsored by another individual by his or her free will. The individual heading for Haj must have no financial or other debts towards anyone else in the community.
The center of this ritual is the celebration of the Mercy of Allah(swt) when He caused the life of the son of Abraim(as) to be spared and substituted a lamb for sacrifice in His Name.

ZAKAT (The Poor Tax):
It is an Annual Obligatory percentage Tax on the Net Worth of the Believer
Optional Khayrat (Alms) may be given according to the individual's financial status in the Muslim Community
Optional Sdaqa is a special giving for the poor irrespective of the financial status of the individual

The levy for the sustenance and propagation of the Message.
It is an Annual Obligatory percentage Tax on the Net Income of the faithful

JIHAD (Struggle or Apply oneself):
Defense of the Faith.
Defense of the Home-land of the Faithful.
Stand up for Truth.
Avoidance of Oppression.
Non-participation with the Oppressor.
Denouncement of the Usurper.







All material published by / And the Message Continues is the sole responsibility of its author's).

The opinions and/or assertions contained therein do not necessarily reflect the editorial views of this site,

nor of Al-Huda and its officers.

  Copyright 2001  Al-Huda, NJ  USA